“I’m Not Gonna Tell My Daughter Princess Stories” ?

I must confess, I had to have a little bit of fun with one of my very independent, very strong, very proud and righteous female friends on Facebook tonight.

Recently she posted that she would not be telling her daughter stories about princesses getting saved by a man, that when her daughter tells her with bright eyes, “Mommy, I wanna be a princess!” she will tell her, “You know why I don’t like princesses?  Because they don’t get jobs and they need someone else to help them.”

So I cheekily commented, “Can’t I wear a tiara while I’m working?” and am waiting on a response.

I had to, because the whole premise is just so boring.  And so sad, too.  Maybe I’ve had a bad influence, but for a while now I’ve  been rethinking that whole narrative, that princesses are useless and you should never be a damsel in distress.  Oh, and men shouldn’t be heroes.

Bullocks to that!  I can sit here cramming over a degree and want to be rescued a few times in my life, right?  Have a guy carry my book bag a time or two, hold a door open for me even if I’m thirty feet from the entrance, offer me spare change when I need a little more for a sandwich.  And, of course, if I was being cornered by a group of ruffians, as I am told apparently happens frequently because of campus rape culture, my tiny 5’1″ self wouldn’t at all be protesting if some white knight decided to throw himself into the fray to protect me.  Hey, go for it.  Be Superman.  Neither of us are allowed to carry weapons to protect ourselves so you might as well.

I’ve come to believe that fighting to not be protected is actually kind of pointless if you think about it.  No, I’m not saying you need to rely on a human being 24/7, but technically we all need saving, and there did happen to be a Man who once offered His life to save all of us damsels in distress (yes, including the guys out there).  I hear that offer is still open, too.  But even with other people, no one is an island unto themselves.  We all need rescuing, often frequent rescuing.  We’re human.  We can’t do everything on our own or be everything on our own.  We like to think that we work hard for our accomplishments and it was all us all the time, but it’s so not true.  The best authors have a long list of acknowledgments.  We all have teachers, mentors, friends, parents, pastors, and most importantly God, to help us with all of our daily troubles.  What is so wrong about that?  Yes, I need a man to save me sometimes.  Sometimes I need a sister, too.  There is no harm in stories where people get rescued because it’s a reflection of life.

Also, wouldn’t you want the man you love to rescue you when you needed it?  Would you prefer he left you alone when you were in trouble just so you could handle it on your own and show how “strong” you are, even if it may be more than you can actually take?

2 thoughts on ““I’m Not Gonna Tell My Daughter Princess Stories” ?

  1. LOL! Amen, Ada! Being a princess is a good thing, as long as we’re the real kind,the kind that used to face exile and curses and whatever else life threw at them, with class and grace. Princesses have royal blood in them, as we all do who follow Jesus Christ. We’re daughters of a King, so it makes perfect sense to be a princess.

    We’re all strong and independent, but if some guy comes along offering to help you carry a load or fight some dragons for you, Hallelujah! That’s not only a real blessing, that’s half the fun in life.

    Kind of funny, at church a few weeks ago we had some girls in tiaras and one announced she was sad, she had forgotten her crown. The Pastor said, that is the problem we all have, we are always forgetting where we left our crown! It was very cute.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, that’s very sweet! Don’t leave your crown at home, girls, we’ve got a Kingdom to run here. 🙂

    Update on the Facebook discussion: she admits she loves tiaras (who doesn’t), but Disney Princesses aren’t good examples in her view. Won’t argue with her there, but mostly for the fact that Disney sugarcoats otherwise teachworthy fairy tales.

    Like

Leave a Reply

