Jesus Loves Me, This I Know~…

A little bit of a worship-oriented post.

I know there’s a lot of condemnation in the Church, a lot of pointing fingers and hardened hearts.  There are many Christians who strive to reflect the love of Jesus rather than self-righteous hatred, and there are many who do the latter.

But I’m not writing this to talk about what the Church does and doesn’t do.  Rather, I’m going to talk about Christ and how much He loves me and how merciful He is to me.

When I play my piano, it becomes a form of worship.  The love I express while striking each key feels like it’s reaching God up there in heaven, watching over me and listening to me.  It’s just me, God, and the piano.  The intricate and complex notes, chords, and tempos of one of Mozart’s beautiful Sonatas remind me of the fine-tuning of God’s universe, from the smallest particles to the largest galaxies like paintings on a canvas.

I can feel God during my nightly prayers, like a warm feeling in my heart that assures me all will work out for the better and that He is always listening.  Sometimes I feel light as a feather, almost floating.

I could feel God in my trip to the mountains in Romania, the vast, formidable heights embracing the villages within them, reminding me of how great He is – that even though I am but a tiny speck in this vast universe, He pays attention to every aspect of my being.  I am small, but like you who is reading this, I am wonderfully and fearfully made.

I can feel God in the claps of thunder during a storm.  Powerful and fearsome, and yet I am kept warm and safe inside, away from the chaos in the skies above, like Christ saving me from the consequences of my sins.

And even with the powerful displays I mentioned above about God’s character, I can also see God in the calmest of things.  I can see His gentleness in the flap of a dove’s wings, in the light breeze on a cool yet sunny day, in the hugs a parent gives to their child.  It would seem that God is a paradox, to be so powerful and yet so gentle, but He’s a perfect paradox and there’s a beautiful harmony to be found there.

Above all, I am most in awe of Christ’s mercy.  When I do wrong, He tells me so, but He always lets me know He loves me and He encourages me to keep rising up after each fall.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.” – 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

“Love does no harm to its neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.” – Romans 13:10

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.  We love because he first loved us.” – 1 John 4:18-19

“Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.” – 1 John 4:8

“The most important one [commandment],” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one.  Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’  The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.” – Mark 12:29-31

9 thoughts on “Jesus Loves Me, This I Know~…

  1. And I beheld, and I heard the voice of many angels round about the throne and the living creatures and the elders: and the number of them was ten thousand times ten thousand, and thousands of thousands;

    Saying with a loud voice, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain to receive power, and riches, and wisdom, and strength, and honor, and glory, and blessing.

    And every creature which is in heaven, and on the earth, and under the earth, and such as are in the sea, and all that are in them, heard I saying, Blessing, and honor, and glory, and power, be unto him that sits upon the throne, and unto the Lamb forever and ever.

    And the four living creatures said, Amen. And the four and twenty elders fell down and worshiped him that lives forever and ever.

    (Looks like a worshipful Sunday Ada)

    Like

  2. That was just beautiful, Ada. That really is what it’s all about.

    This pastor today said he was going to settle the greatest theological debate ever. He says, “are you ready for this? Here goes, all the secrets of the bible revealed to you!” And than he proceeds to sing, “Jesus loves me this I know, for the bible tells me so…” It was really quite funny, but also remarkably true.

    Like

    • Thank you. It really is so simple, and yet people still needed to be reminded of that greatest commandment, that ultimate theological “secret.” God’s love pours into all of His creation. The care He took to create all the hundreds of breeds of beautiful flowers, the millions of large, rippling lakes, the coral reefs in the ocean, the mountains around the world, the tropical islands in the Pacific, all to make the world our playground, so we could delight in the wonders of His love and imagination.

      It’s a shame; you can see His love almost everywhere you look, and yet so many people are still blind to it…

      Like

Leave a Reply

